KCLR NewsTemp

24 seats on Kilkennys new County Council now filled

After two re-counts over the weekend and 24 seats to be filled in 4 electoral areas, the process finished up on Monday evening in the Springhill Court Hotel in Kilkenny.

The 24 members elected breaks down as follows…

FF – 10

FG – 7

SF – 3

Lab – 2

Green – 1

Ind. 1


KK City West

Matt Doran FF re-elected

Joe MaloneFF re-elected

Malcolm Noonan green re-elected

Pat McKee FF NEW

David Fitzgerald FG re-elected

Kathleen Funchion SF re-elected


KK City East

Andrew McGuinness FF re-elected

Peter ‘Chap’ Cleere FF NEW

Michael Doyle FG NEW

David Kennedy SF NEW

Patrick O’ Neill FG NEW

Breda Gardner IND NEW



Melissa O’ Neill SF NEW

Pat Dunphy FG re-elected

Fidelis Doherty FG re-elected

Eamon Aylward FF re-elected

Tomas Breathnach Lab re-elected

Ger Frisby FF NEW



Maurice Shortall Lab re-elected

Mary Hilda Cavanagh FG re-elected

Pat Fitzpatrick FF NEW

Pat Millea FF re-elected

John Brennan FG re-elected

Michael McCarthy FF NEW