KCLR Sport

Kilkenny U-21 side to face Carlow is named

The Kilkenny under-21 team to face Carlow in the Leinster semi-final this week was named after training last night.

Brían Ryan and his selectors have made a number of positional switches and there’s 2 changes in personnel for the tie with Enda Morrissey and Brian Troy both coming into the side as Diarmuid Cody and Chris Bolger make way.

Darren Brennan starts again in goal with no changes in the full-back line – Conor Delaney, Ciaran Wallace and Evan Cody line out there.
Jason Cleere remains at right half-back, Enda Morrissey comes in at centre back with Brian Troy at left half-back.

Paddy Deegan joins Mark Mansfield in midfield

Conor Martin moves out to right half forward, Willie Brennan stays at centre forward with James Maher at left half-forward.

Liam Hickey, Ciaran Ryan and Liam Blanchfield make up the full-forward line.

Full squad listing….

  1. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtains)
  2. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
  3. Ciarán Wallace (Erin’s Own)
  4. Evan Cody (Dicksboro) (Capt.)
  5. Jason Cleere (Bennettstbridge)
  6. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
  7. Brian Troy (Emeralds)
  8. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin/Gaels)
  9. Mark Mansfield (Mullinavat)
  10. Conor Martin (Emeralds)
  11. Willie Brennan (Fenians)
  12. James Maher (St.Lachtains)
  13. Liam Hickey (St.Lachtains)
  14. Ciarán Ryan (Rower/Inistioge)
  15. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
  16. Daragh Holohan (Dicksboro)
  17. Huw Lawler (O’Loughlin/Gaels)
  18. Rob Moran (Erin’s Own)
  19. Kevin Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
  20. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)
  21. Niall Mullins (James Stephens)
  22. Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks)
  23. Jack McGrath (James Stephens)
  24. Séan Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

The winners will go on to face either Wexford or Offaly.

We’ll be live in Netwatch Cullen Park on Wednesday night with thanks to Countrystyle Foods for full commentary and analysis on air, online and via the Irish Radio Player app.