KCLR Sport

Sean O Brien returns from Injury into Irish Wolfhounds team

Sean O Brien
Sean O Brien

Tullow man Sean O Brien returns from a long injury layoff to start in the back row at number 7 for the Ireland Wolfhounds team to face England in Cork tomorrow.

Jack Conan makes his first Irish senior appearance beside the Carlow man at number 8 with Leinsters Dominic Ryan on the other side.

Iain Henderson continues his return from injury beside Mike McCarthy, while the front row consists of Mike Ross, Richardt Strauss and Jack McGrath.

Kieran Marmion will combine with Ian Madigan at half-back with Gordon D’Arcy and Keith Earls form the centre partnership. Captain Felix Jones is joined in the back-three by Fergus McFadden and Luke Fitzgerald.


IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Team & Replacements (v England Saxons, ‘A’ International Match, Irish Independent Park, Cork, Friday, January 30, kick-off 7.45pm):

15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster) (capt)
14. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
12. Gordon D’Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
11. Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster)
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
1. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
3. Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
5. Mike McCarthy (Leinster)
6. Dominic Ryan (Lansdowne/Leinster)
7. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
8. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *


16. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
17. Michael Bent (Leinster)
18. Nathan White (Galwegians/Connacht) *
19. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)
20. Eoin McKeon (Corinthians/Connacht) *
21. Isaac Boss (Terenure/Leinster)
22. Noel Reid (Clontarf/Leinster)
23. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)

* Denotes uncapped player at Test level

Remote Working Hubs Kilkenny City & County