Tag Archives | radio

Online Show #2

Here’s the second online episode of the show for you to enjoy at a time of your choosing! Morning, afternoon, evening or night it’s still the same mix of great music I hope you’ll enjoy. Stop by to catch up! We’ll also continue have interviews and Studio 2 Sessions as they happen. Feel free to share!

Playlist: Hour 1 of 3

Street Life - Roxy Music
On Every Other Street - Cabaret Voltaire
Take Me To Church - Sinead O’Connor
Mountjoy - Morrissey
Glacier - James Vincent McMorrow
Build Me Up From Bones - Sarah Jarosz
Kid Face - Samantha Crain
Young Man In America - Anais Mitchell
Chango - Hans Chew
Melmoth The Wanderer - The Ground Will Shake
Double Helix - Earthship
This Could Be Good - Pugwash
Finer Things In Life - Pugwash

Playlist: Hour 2 of 3

Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows - The Beatles
Too Deep - Ghost Of A Sabre Tooth Tiger
Xanadu - Ghost Of A Sabre Tooth Tiger
How Many More Times - Led Zeppelin
Would You Fight For My Love - Jack White
Sweatbox - The Phantom Band
Girls Talk - Matthew Sweet/Suzanna Hoffs
Memphis Tennessee - Eleanor McEvoy
Coat Of Many Colours - Emmylou Harris
Intro - Robert Power
Human - Robert Power
Library - Biggles Flys Again
Radio 4 - Public Image Limited

Playlist: Hour 3 of 3

Don’t Take Me Alive - Steely Dan
Third World Man - Steely Dan
The Soul Of All Natural Things - Linda Perhacs
My Silver Lining - First Aid Kit
Guinivere - Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
Earth Died Screaming - Tom Waits
Hrafnar - Samaris
Frankenstein Bolts - Frankenstein Bolts
Rear View Mirror - Roddy Frame
Red Eyes - The War On Drugs
Blackbird/Yesterday - The Beatles

KCLR signs contract to broadcast to Carlow and Kilkenny for another 10 years

kclr-webfbKCLR 96fm is now ten years on the airwaves.

The radio station today signed a new contract with the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland to continue to broadcast to the people of Carlow and Kilkenny for another ten years, until 2024.

The Broadcasting Authority of Ireland has today (Tuesday 15th April) signed a ten-year sound broadcasting contract with C.K. Broadcasting Limited, trading as KCLR, to continue to provide a local, broad-format radio service for listeners in Counties Carlow and Kilkenny.

Speaking at the contract signing, the Chairperson of the BAI, Bob Collins said “the BAI is delighted to sign the contract with KCLR today.  Over the term of its new contract, KCLR has committed to reflecting and supporting the communities of Kilkenny and Carlow and to remaining responsive to audience needs.  I wish KCLR renewed success over the term of its ten-year contract and I am confident that the station will continue to evolve in order to meet the needs of its audience and the changing media environment.”

The BAI was represented at the contract signing by the Chairperson, Bob Collins and Michael O’Keeffe, Chief Executive.  The signatories for KCLR were Fergus Cronin, Director and John Purcell, Chief Executive and Director, of the radio service.  The effective date of the new contract is 22nd April 2014.

KCLR listener saves the day for local charity

A retired taxi driver has hopefully come to the rescue for a local charity.

Its after a 2 way radio was stolen when an Order of Malta ambulance was broken into in Kilkenny.

The ambulance was parked up at their offices at Wolfe Tone Street and it was only noticed yesterday morning that the passenger window had been smashed and the radio taken.

This morning Ned in Carlow, a listener to The Sue Nunn Show offered the use of a radio to the charity after hearing the story on KCLR.

Gardai are investigating the theft which happened sometime between last Tuesday evening and yesterday morning.